Druckansicht der Internetadresse:

Faculty of Languages & Literatures

Professorship of English Studies and Anglophone Literatures – Prof. Dr. Susan Arndt

Print page
Startseitenbild der Transkulturellen Anglistik

Welcome to our website!

The Professorship of English Studies and Anglophone Literatures is part of the Department of English and American Studies

We work as Transcultural English Studies. What does this mean?

Literature is on the move (Ottmar Ette). This does not only mean that authors –equipped with the latest technological developments, online communication and the world wide web – are at home in the libraries of the world. It also means that literary creations are interlinked by entangled histories, thus intertwining nations, languages and aesthetics, thereby rethinking and reinventing them. Literary Studies has to adjust to these poetics and think in a transcultural way beyond the boundaries of nations and languages. Transcultural English Studies are dedicated to literatures in English language from all over the world and at the same time open up to comparative and interlinking perspectives on and readings of literatures in other languages. In order to offer complex insights into literature as a global net, in both teaching and research we collaborate closely with our colleagues of the Faculty of Languages and Literatures of the University Bayreuth.

We work as Transcultural English Studies. What does this mean?

Already established and well accustomed methods of Literary Studies are amalgamated with approaches from Cultural Studies, Social-, and Natural Sciences.

Why?

Literature deals with what was, what is, and what might be coming our way. Freedom of Thought and the restlessness of the imaginary mind release literature from its responsibility to “mirror” or to be “about reality”. Nevertheless, it is the combination of social-, cultural-, and political interaction that makes the fabric out of which fiction is generated, contextualizing history and historicizing texts. No character, no plot arises from a vacuum. Each of them is on an orbit guided by conventional coordinates: the characters are carried through the plots by conflicts designed by race, sexuality, gender, class, age and abilitiy … The symbolic orders and discourses of the narrating time mould those of the narrated one. Therefore, literature is part and parcel of society, constantly moulding and changing it. Hence, the study of literature has to rely on readings that manage to cope with these complexities of literary (un)consciousness, framing discourses and their structures, narratives and their aesthetics as well as knowledge and its fictional fantasies.

This is where we start off in both teaching and research, while pursuing foci in postcolonial theory, studies of racism, diaspora studies as well as gender and queer-theories. In doing so, we cooperate transdisciplinary with other faculties, such as e.g. in the Cluster of Excellence „Africa Multiple. Reconfiguring African Studies”Bayreuth Academy of Advanced African Studies, the Bayreuth Graduate School of African Studies (BIGSAS), the BIGSAS Festival of African and African-Diasporic Literatures, the network Future Migration. Network for Cultural Identity, the network Gender, Queer, Intersectionality and Diversity Studies (GeQuInDi) and the Bayreuth Institute for American Studies (BIFAS).

Webmaster: Univ.Prof.Dr. Susan Arndt

Facebook Twitter Youtube-Kanal Instagram Blog Contact

Druckansicht der Internetadresse:

Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaftliche Fakultät

Professur für Englische Literaturwissenschaft und Anglophone Literaturen – Prof. Dr. Susan Arndt

Seite drucken
Startseitenbild der Transkulturellen Anglistik

Willkommen auf unserer Website!

Die Professur für englische Literaturwissenschaft und anglophone Literaturen ist Teil der Fachgruppe Anglistik / Amerikanistik.

Wir verstehen uns als Transkulturelle Anglistik. Was bedeutet das?

Literatur ist in Bewegung. Das heißt nicht einfach nur, dass Schriftsteller*innen – getragen vom Internet mehr als je zuvor – in den Bibliotheken der Welt beheimatet sind. Vor allem ist gemeint, dass literarische Wortgeflechte Nationen und Sprachen verzahnen und dabei neu erfinden. Die Literaturwissenschaft muss sich dieser Poetik anpassen und über Grenzen von Nationen und Sprachen hinweg denken. Die Transkulturelle Anglistik widmet sich den englischsprachigen Literaturen in der gesamten Welt und öffnet sich dabei vergleichenden Blicken auf Literaturen in anderen Sprachen. Deswegen arbeiten wir in Lehre und Forschung eng mit anderen Lehrenden der Sprach- und Literarturwissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Universität Bayreuth zusammen, um ein möglichst umfassendes Verständnis von Literatur als globalem Netzwerk zu ermöglichen.

Wir arbeiten als kulturwissenschaftliche Literaturwissenschaft. Was bedeutet das?

Vertraute Instrumentarien des literaturwissenschaftlichen Arbeitens werden mit Ansätzen aus der Kultur-, Sozial- und Naturwissenschaft verwoben.

Warum?

Literatur erzählt davon, was war, was ist und was vielleicht noch sein könnte. Die Freiheit der Gedanken enthebt die Tintenwelt aller Verantwortung für Realität. Dennoch ist es die Gemengelage sozialer, kultureller und politischer Interaktionen, die den Teppich webt, aus dem die Fiktion ihre Geschichte und Geschichten spinnt. Keine je erdachte Figur entspringt einem Vakuum. Jede einzelne von ihnen bewegt sich vielmehr in einer Umlaufbahn, die im innersten von altbekannten Koordinaten gesteuert wird: Konflikte und Differenzen entlang von Geschlecht, ‚Rasse‘, Klasse, Alter, Fähigkeit tragen die Figuren durch die Handlung. Die symbolischen Ordnungen und Diskurse der erzählenden Zeit formieren dabei jene der erzählten Zeiten. Deswegen ist Literatur nicht nur immanenter Teil der Gesellschaft, sondern sie gestaltet und verändert sie. Hier setzen wir in Forschung wie Lehre an, wobei Schwerpunktsetzungen in der postkolonialen Theorie, in der Rassismusforschung, Diaspora-Forschung sowie Gender und Queer-Theorien erfolgen.

Dabei arbeiten wir in Lehre und Forschung eng mit Lehrenden anderer Fakultäten zusammen. Diese fakultätsübergreifende Zusammenarbeit findet etwa im Rahmen des Exzellenz-Clusters „Africa Multiple. Reconfiguring African Studies”, der Bayreuth Academy of Advanced African Studies, der Bayreuth Graduate School of African Studies (BIGSAS), des BIGSAS Festivals afrikanischer und afrikanisch-diasporischer Literaturen, des Netzwerkes Future Migration. Netzwerk für kulturelle Diversität, des Netzwerkes Gender, Queer, Intersectionality and Diversity Studies (GeQuInDi) und des Bayreuther Instituts für Amerikastudien (BIFAS) statt.

Verantwortlich für die Redaktion: Univ.Prof.Dr. Susan Arndt

Facebook Twitter Youtube-Kanal Instagram Blog Kontakt